#TBT to Thanksgiving Pies

I’m sorry, I know everyone is over Thanksgiving. It’s Christmas time, and I promise I got the memo. I’m just finding it increasingly difficult during the holiday season to keep up with the ole blog! Thank goodness for #TBT. I’m throwing it all the way back to Thanksgiving 2014, or as we like to call it up in Brooklyn, “Friendsgiving 2014.” I didn’t get a chance to make it down to Florida this year for Thanksgiving, so for the second year in a row, I met up with the Brooklyn Framily I’ve been adopted into for a Thanksgiving Feast. Dress code: PJs.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Polaroids to capture the night

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

The neighborhood Thanksgiving Turkey was gracious enough to stop buy. With a six pack of Miller High Life, obviously.

At home Mom and Dad had a more low key Thanksgiving this year with immediate family. Usually we’re with upwards of 30 extended family members with a feast that consists of 4 different turkeys, ham, and pork, countless sides, and about 5 different of Mom’s famous pies. This year it was just my Mom, Dad, Brother and Grandparents, so they just stuck with a turkey and a ham. (my brother can’t have Thanksgiving without ham for some reason.) Mom made a couple of homemade pies along with her apricot curry cheese dip.

Inspired by my mom’s choice in dishes, I decided I would also make the cheese-dip as well as a pumpkin pie for the Friendsgiving festivities. The pie turned out pretty well in my opinion (you can’t really mess up a pumpkin pie.)

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Chocolate Pecan, Pumpkin, and Pear Pie

My mom then texted me the picture below of her apricot curry cheese dip.

thanksgiving4

I can’t compete with this.

My attempt to mimic  my mom’s presentation rivaled many of the amusing Pinterest fails you find on Buzzfeed. I should have taken a picture to document the failure that was my turkey cheese ball. It was bad. My friends can attest. Although it did not look as pretty, it tasted delicious! The recipe is super easy. It is perfect for Thanksgiving and tailgating. Mom has turned this cheese ball into a football and a turkey so I can’t wait to see what’s next. Check out the recipe below!

Ingredients

-2 packages of cream cheese

-4 TBSP Chunky Apricot Jam

-2 TSP Fresh Curry Powder

-1 10 oz pkg chopped almonds

-3 TBSP butter or margerine

Directions

Prehead oven to 350 degrees. Brown almonds with butter for about 10 minutes. Careful not to let them burn! Drain on paper towel. Mix together room temperature cream cheese, jam, and curry powder. Let chill overnight. (4-8 hours.) After chilled, roll into a ball, and roll with almonds to make a crust. Feel free to be festive with details! (As mom always is.)

I’m excited to be home for the holidays soon to share more festive holiday treats and stories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

