The trip to Big Sky Country

Whew, it has been a while since my last post. The last few months have been a whirlwind for me, so I’m excited to get back to the blog to share the adventure Mom and I took alllll the way back in August.  This whole trip came about, because I have a best friend who basically has one of the coolest summer jobs of anyone around. Nikki and I have known each other since we were 4 years old. I can’t remember exactly how or when we met, all I can remember is how inseparable we were. We made up songs together, choreographed dances, and of course we attempted to play sports together (woof.) To be honest, we really spent the majority of our time pretending we were characters from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Fact: ANGEL > EDWARD CULLEN. Fast forward to now: Nikki lives in LA where she is pursuing her dream of being an actress. (YOU GO GIRL!) While she spends the majority of time in LA, for the past five years she has been performing at Bigfork Summer Playhouse in Bigfork, Montana. Many Bigfork Summer Playhouse alumni have gone off to do amazing things, and I have no doubt she will do the same.

Partner in crime...and by crime, I mean dorky activities

Partner in crime…and by crime, I mean dorky activities

My Mom and I had discussed trying to get out to Montana to see her each summer, but we never quite made it work until this year. Mom, Grandma, and I planned a girls trip! If you’re every looking to visit Montana, make sure to stop by Bigfork, and if you’re going during the summer, check out the Playhouse.

Thoroughly Modern Millie

Thoroughly Modern Millie

In Bigfork we were theater-goers by night and adventurers by day. Our first day time excursion included a visit to Whitefish Mountain Resort where we hiked and zip-lined. We had a little downtime before our zip-lining was scheduled, so we decided to do what any level headed human would do: hit up the bar. All three of us  had a glass (or two) of wine, and Grandma even chugged a beer, which was probably in the top 3 highlights of the entire trip. I’m not sure the zip-line instructor was fully comfortable in allowing Mom and I to participate. Mostly because after weighing ourselves (necessary evil of Zip-line preparation apparently) my mom asked, “Is this scale in kilometers?”…Classic.

montana

Two crazies on a zip-line.

Not to worry, we made it through the experience and had a lot of laughs. Our zip-lining crew dubbed us Lucy and Ethel, which we took as high praise. Next on our list was Glacier Park, which is easily one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been in my life. If you don’t believe me check out the pics! Mom, Grandma, and I stuck to the novice trails. I know you’re probably thinking the reason for this was because of Grandma, or even because of Mom, but you would be wrong. If you know anything about me you know I don’t like to climb. In fact, it’s one of my least favorite activities. My 4th floor walk-up is taxing enough. Give me a nice gradual incline and I’m a happy camper, or in this case, a happy hiker.

montana 2

montana 7

montana 4

At any rate, we “hiked” a pretty flat trail with gorgeous waterfall views, and a bathroom half way through which was super convenient, especially for Mom, who on average goes every 10 minutes. So we’re on this one way, flat hiking trail for dummies taking a gazillion pictures and having an all around good time, when the inevitable happens. With my inherited lack of any sense of direction it was a toss up as to whether Mom or I was going to be the one who got lost on the trail. But Krista, you may ask, how does one get lost on a one way, flat hiking trail for dummies? Trust me, between my Mom and I, one of us WILL find a way not only to get lost, but also to completely justify it by giving a number of thoroughly ridiculous valid excuses that lay blame on anyone other than ourselves. For those betting, Mom was the big winner (or loser depending on your perception.) On one of her 9 bathroom stops, she took the wrong turn out of the bathroom and ended up hiking half a mile the opposite way of Grandma and me. This led to a frantic search. Well, I should say I was frantic. Grandma was oddly unconcerned. Perhaps this is because she has approximately 20 more years of experience with my mother’s antics than I have. Who knows. After 30 minutes of running around asking everyone I saw if they had seen a small lady with brown hair and a confused look on her face, I finally heard a shrill, yet familiar voice calling my name. We found her! After 10 minutes of her complaining that they should have better signs outside the bathrooms and that the trails should be better marked, we were able to continue our journey. Before the end of the hike, I had at least 3 complete strangers come up to us to say how happy they were that I found Mom. Mom told me that I embarrassed her by freaking everyone out. She gets lost on a one way trail, and somehow in all of this, I’m the embarrassing one?  Gotta love her.

montana 12

montana 6

So where do the cakes come into play in all of this? I’ll tell you with one word: Huckleberries. These Montanans can huckleberry literally ANYTHING. Huckleberry jam, bread, coffee, tea, cookies, gummies, pancakes, and one of my personal favorites…FRO YO. Even the beer I told you all about, you know the one Grandma chugged? You guessed it, huckleberry flavored.

montana 3

Huckleberry Fro-Yo

montana 15

Montana Mush

Mom couldn’t come home without buying as much huckleberry flavored stuff as she could carry. All we have back in Florida are oranges, so she had to spice it up. So what did she make? A CAKE. Well, she made mini cakes. Ok, she made muffins. Delicious huckleberry muffins.

montana 9

montana 11

montana 10

Huckleberry Muffins. Not pictured: the huckleberry cobbler mom made that everyone gobbled up before anyone had a chance to take a picture.

The muffins were an awesome end to an even more awesome trip! It was our first Montana adventure, and I hope it’s not our last. If you ever find yourself visiting, don’t go home without the huckleberries!

P.S. Stay tuned for some Halloween cakes coming up soon 🙂

2 thoughts on “The trip to Big Sky Country

  1. Pingback: #TBT Happy Hallo-Birthday | CakesMyMomMakes

Leave a Reply

